It’s Time to Give Your Body a Fresh Start

Spring is a time when everything looks and feels new again. The sun feels warmer on the skin and the days begin to grow longer. The longer days and added sunshine give us more energy to get out and exercise AND stay in to clean and organize. No longer do we crave comfort foods such as stews, pot pies, and hardy soups.  We naturally start to shift our palate to lighter fare and you may even be looking a little differently at some of the greens available in the grocery store. (Bitter greens such as dandelion are great for stimulating digestion and may be added to salads and smoothies.) Spring is the time of year when those of us who live in cold, snowy areas get to open our windows for the first time in months and air out our homes. At this time of year our bodies also want to get “aired out”, lightened up, and to let go of some of the fat stores we needed in the winter to keep warm. Spring also presents to us a great opportunity do a little internal-organ cleansing. There are many foods that are especially useful for this purpose. Here is a partial list:

  • Beets – Juice made from beets and beet tops naturally detoxify the liver. Beets are a great source of betaine and betaine has been shown to help decongest the liver, support fat metabolism, and helps to thin and mobilize bile.
  • Lemons – Drinking the juice of 1 lemon mixed with a cup of water each morning helps to keep waste moving through the intestines. (Add a little celtic sea salt or Real Salt and give yourself some much needed trace minerals.)
  • Cilantro – Used daily, cilantro will help to detoxify your body of mercury. (If you have fillings in your teeth this may be a good idea for you.)
  • Garlic and Onions (organically grown) are sulfur rich foods. Sulfur is needed by the liver to produce enzymes that are needed for detoxification. Sulfur is also needed to hydrate our cells.
  • Green Tea – Daily consumption of green tea gives the body important antioxidants, supports the growth of healthy bowel flora and also increases liver function – a great detoxifier!
  • Asparagus helps to clean the kidneys.

A Cleanse

For a deep, thorough cleansing of the liver, digestive tract, kidneys, and lymphatic system I highly recommend the Standard Process Purification Program. I did this cleanse in January of this year. Despite a clean diet, I noticed a few thing about my health that were not quite right and I decided it was time to give this program a try. I am so glad that I finally did! In fact, I enjoyed it so much and received so many benefits from it that I will be doing it again come June. Two of the biggest benefits I received that seem to be common, especially among women, are better, more sound sleep and increased energy during the day. My mind is also sharper which I certainly appreciate and I am in a great mood most of the time now – even at that scary PMS time!

The Liver

I remember reading in one of my textbooks that the liver is so important to the functioning of our bodies that instead of saying, “I love you with all my heart” we should be saying, “I love you with all my liver”. The liver is responsible for creating bile and stowing it in the gallbladder. The liver also creates fat and protein packets that are transported around the body, it metabolizes protein, and stores fat-soluble vitamins, iron, and B12 in addition to carbohydrates. The liver also detoxifies hormones, drugs, and toxins so they can be eliminated  from the body. It is the filter for everything that you take in and everything created in the body. That is a lot of work for one organ. And in this world full of pollutants, toxins, chemicals, pesticides, and fast foods,  the liver gets over-worked and backed up. It’s important to “change the oil” so to speak.

Under ideal working conditions the liver should be able to handle just about anything thrown at it but, unfortunately we now live in a world that is less than optimal for many of our organs. Toxins that are not able to be removed from the body may contribute to many chronic conditions including but not limited to:

  • Congestion/Stuffy Head
  • Fatigue or difficulty sleeping
  • Poor digestion and other gastrointestinal problems
  • Food cravings and weight gain
  • Reduced mental clarity
  • Low libido

The Gut

80% of your immune system is in your gastroinstestinal tract and the Standard American Diet does nothing to ensure the health of this intricate and amazing system. A great way to gently clean out and heal the GI tract is to complete the Standard Process Purification Program while including lots of homemade chicken stock and a good probiotic.

The Kidneys

The kidneys filter out waste and excess fluid from the blood. Have you been looking a little “puffy” lately? It may be time for a cleanse! The kidneys also regulate and release the right balance of sodium, phosphorus, and potassium for the body to function properly.

Feedback from happy, cleansing people:

“I just completed the Cleansing/Purification Program and what a journey it has been! The first 4 days of this program were very difficult for me due to intense cravings.  I was even dreaming about foods I would not normally eat.  By the night of the 3rd day, I seriously doubted my ability to go on with the journey.  I am so glad that I hung in there.  By the 5th day, my cravings were all gone and I began to reap the benefits of the program. Both my sleep at night and my energy during the day improved dramatically. Because of these two changes, I had more energy and motivation to exercise daily.   By day 10, I  began to experienced steady  weight loss which seemed to be focused on the most needed areas of my body.   Although I thought I was a disciplined eater prior to the journey, my greatest nutritional take-away is how to increase my vegetable intake.  I now eat a salad with my breakfast and it’s wonderful way to start my day!  I highly recommend this program as a way to jump start a journey to improved health and lifestyle changes.” – Teresa, Lake Forest, Ca.

“I did the cleanse.  At the beginning it was difficult because I do not eat a lot of vegetables but, after the 4th day I felt better and ended up losing around 12 lbs. in three weeks. I enjoy running and working out and my running has improved and I have more energy to cope with all that life throws at me.  If I can do this cleanse, anyone can.  Three weeks is not a long time.  It has been over a month since I have finished the cleanse and I have kept most of the healthy eating habits I started during the cleanse and the weight has stayed off and I am feeling good.” – Jim, Boston, Ma.

“After completing the SP Purification Program, I have more energy, less cravings, a happy belly and no more sleepless nights.  It has helped me transition to a more healthy, whole food diet by ridding the cravings for caffeine, sugars…etc.  I would highly recommend this program.” – Julie, Hudson, Ma.

And finally, from Jerry in Lake Forest, Ca.-

” This is the third time I have taken the SP cleanse and it never fails. I lost 14 lbs in 2 weeks and feel great and at 40 years old I can use all the help I can get.  Some people say the first 3 days are the toughest with cravings for carbs, but for me its the 3rd week. I find eating crunchy vegetables throughout the day and having an SP shake helps a lot. The occasional sweet potato helps curb my carb crave. For me the best part is eating hot and sweet raw peppers with my salads and vegetables to keep the flavor going. When cravings are most severe, a nice avocado, fresh lemon juice and sea salt sure hit the spot. From Day 1 thru Day 6 bowel movements are large, and makes me think this product should come with a hatchet. But honestly, colon function sure gets improved after this cleanse. Its amazing how disgusting fast food and processed foods look and smell by the 3rd week on the cleanse. This product saved my life (well ok, maybe delayed death a little longer) ……but honestly the SP cleanse is clean, gentle, and really works in many ways.”

I think Jerry pretty much sums it up for all of us! Thanks to everyone for the great feedback!

Only real food gives us the real health we need to live life to the fullest. Completing a cleanse such as The Standard Process Purification Program not only rids the body of lots of muck and helps your organs work more efficiently, but it also makes it easier for the body to take in all the nutrition that real food has to offer. Think about showing your liver how much you love it and when you are ready to do this great program, drop me a line. I’ll send you a Symptom Survey Form to get an idea where you stand pre-cleanse and then I’ll get you all set up (hatchet and all!). When you are done, you too will be writing a glowing testimonial which I will happily include on my website!

About Christina's Healthy Choices

I am passionate about helping others reclaim the health and vitality that we are all entitled to. I will share with you the choices I make that contribute to my good health and the health of my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

