Building a Healthy Immune System

Flu season is upon us once again and everywhere I turn someone wants to stick me with a needle and inject me with some sort of chemical concoction that is filled with toxins and preservatives. Supposedly, allowing this into my blood stream and tissues will keep me from getting the flu. I don’t buy it and neither should you. Recently, I heard a report on the radio relaying that a study published in The Lancet has found that there is no real proof that the flu vaccine is effective for most people and specifically not for the elderly. Interesting….

I have to admit, I did get the flu last winter and it was a miserable and interesting ride for sure. If I remember correctly it lasted less than a day and when the fever broke it was as though my body had freed itself from the grip of death. I know that’s a bit dramatic but in the end, I found the experience to be quite fascinating. When you treat it right, the human body is so darn cool! It knows exactly what it has to do to conquer an illness and it will do it quickly and efficiently! The next day I was 1000% percent better, although it did take about a week to regain my energy.  Most of us will get ill once in awhile and I believe that the way the body is able to conquer the illness is a good indicator of how well your immune system functions. I also believe that there are times when we get sick simply because our bodies require “a break” from the stresses of our everyday routine. In other words, if you won’t slow down, your body will insist on it by putting you to bed –  so to speak.

Because I have recently become a Certified GAPS™ Practitioner, I have been thinking about the immune system A LOT. So today, I have decided to post this list from the latest edition of Dr. Campbell-McBride’s book for you to take a look at. My comments are in italics.

From Gut and Psychology Syndrome by Dr. Natasha Campbell-McBride MD

“Top Ten Influences which Boost Immunity”

  1. Fresh animal fats (from meats and dairy) and cholesterol-rich foods (particularly raw egg yolk). – No healing can take place in the body without cholesterol!
  2. Cold-pressed oils: olive oil, fish oils, nut and seed oils. – NOT vegetable oils that go rancid quickly and are disease causing.
  3. Onions & garlic.  – These are sulphur rich and as I understand it, our bodies need sulphur to let oxygen into our cells. Disease can not live in our cells if oxygen is present.
  4. Freshly pressed vegetable and fruit juices. – Raw juices are detoxifying and are loaded with enzymes which are the catalysts for all activity in the body.
  5. Regular consumption of greens: parsley, dill, coriander, spring onions (green onions, scallions) and garlic, etc.
  6. Probiotic supplementation and fermented foods. – A good quality probiotic will have many strains. I look for ones that have 10 or more. If you have ever been on antibiotics and/or birth control pills in your lifetime you need to be on a probiotic. Fermented foods include but are not limited to homemade yogurt, a good quality sauerkraut (there will be no vinegar in it), kombucha, and kefir.
  7. Contact with animals: horses, dogs, etc. Having a pet in the family can do a lot for children’s immune status. – No comment…. the husband won’t let us have a pet.
  8. Swimming in unpolluted natural waters: lakes, rivers, and the sea. – Also, be sure you are drinking only filtered or spring water and consider getting a filter for your shower. 
  9. Physical activity in the fresh air. – Get those kids outside everyday if possible and you too!
  10. Exposure to sunlight and sensible sunbathing. – See my blog about the sun! If you can not get out in the sun on a daily basis or if you live in an area where there just isn’t much sun (like ME!) , you will want to supplement with a good quality cod liver oil

 

 

 

 

I hope this list helps you put together a good strategy for staying healthy this winter and really all year. In the near future, I will post Dr. Campbell-McBride’s list of “Top Ten Influences that Damage Immunity”.

Be well and remember that only REAL food results in REAL health.

About Christina's Healthy Choices

I am passionate about helping others reclaim the health and vitality that we are all entitled to. I will share with you the choices I make that contribute to my good health and the health of my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Building a Healthy Immune System

  1. pattyc says:

    Love your article Christina. Just curious- any stats on whether vegans have more immunity issues (repeat colds, etc.) because of cholesterol minimized diets? And I think pets are a mixed blessing with children’s immune systems…we loved our kitty (gone for over a month now) and he always put us all in good moods which helps our immune systems, but daughter dearest had to be on allergy meds and use inhalers. : ( PS Please send the sun my way if you find it. Stay healthy!

    • Hi There Patty! There is lots of research out there regarding the drawbacks of a vegan/vegetarian diet. You can start by going to the Weston A. Price Foundation and reading the many articles they have on the subject. Here is one in particular – http://www.westonaprice.org/vegetarianism-and-plant-foods/myths-of-vegetarianism. I don’t have any stats about vegans and immunity issues but, I’ll say that from personal experience, in my practice, vegans especially, are the sickest (most ill) people that come to see me and are plagued with many issues including repeat colds and allergies. Vegetarians who eat eggs and high quality dairy (full fat, grass fed, raw) fair much better and are easier to work with because they are at least giving their bodies some of what it needs to rebuild itself. Allergies and asthma can be completely eliminated by healing the lining of the gut. It is a multi-faceted process but it can not be done on a vegan diet. Carbohydrates feed bad bacteria in the gut and a vegan is essentially on a high carb diet. I hope this answers your question… sort of, kind of?……. I can’t send you the sun but I can send you a bottle of cod liver oil!!

Leave a comment